thriftcircus

Yum, Yum!

In Yummers! on December 19, 2009 at 3:53 pm

A blog is a complicated beast. I started off trying to stick to one subject (refinishing furniture), but my life is not just filled with one subject. I’ve written about death, birth, jewelry and truck stops. Now we enter the realm of FOOD. A friend’s mom gave me a recipe for one of my favorite candies. Chocolate Bark. Now this is not healthy and the tooth fairy may be pissed that you ate it, but it IS economical. The total cost was less than 7 bucks and would have been cheaper if I had bought in bulk and cracked those pecans I have! I made one batch for practice and plan to make a couple more batches to bring to Christmas lunch with the fam.

Here we go:

Get these things from the grocery. I used unsalted butter and semi-sweet chips.

Microwave 2 sticks of butter with a cup of light brown sugar for 2 minutes, stir and microwave for 2 more minutes.

Line up a sleeve of saltines in a foil-lined oven pan. I put the salty side down.

Pour your butter-sugar mixture over it. I used too much on my first batch. Just use enough to soak the saltines and create a nice crunchy base.

Bake at 350 for 10 minutes. Lick the bowl while you wait.

Pour the chips on as soon as it comes out of the oven.  Then bake for another 2 minutes to melt completely.

Smooth out the chips!

OH NUTS!Sprinkle the nuts over the hot chocolate. I used 1/2 cup and wished I had used an entire cup.

Freeze for at least an hour. I left mine overnight because I wanted to go to bed!

Pull the foil off the bottom, break up (try to break in between the saltines, it makes it easier), and store in an airtight bowl in the fridge.

Eat, eat, eat!!! Oh snap!


  1. okay, you have my attention! let’s do lunch tomorrow (and dessert)!

    • I took the bark to work and it was literally gone in 20 minutes. And then the late-comers were mad I did not save them any!! They loved it!! Made me happy.

  2. i luf your blog! i should be working but i was sucked in…

Leave a Reply

